Faculty Academy Members

The faculty listed below are committed to sharing ideas and resources for supporting freshmen learning and success with their colleagues, both through their work in the Faculty Academy or interest in discussing freshmen teaching challenges and solutions. To initiate a conversation, consider the information below. Faculty in the certificate program are indicated in bold.

The Faculty Academy members invite you to join the effort by attending a meeting, sharing a resource, or offering a teaching tip you have found effective in supporting freshmen learning and academic success. Materials can be sent to Adriana Signorini and meeting times and locations are provided on the homepage.

Name

Discipline

E-mail

Experience with TAs?

Teaching Freshman in a large classes.

Rebecca Antoine

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

rantoine@ucmerced.edu

   

Ross Avilla

SSHA, Psychology Lecturer

ravilla@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Laura Beaster-Jones

SNS, Lecturer

lbeater-jones@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Kathleen Cadden

SoE, Computer Sciences Lecturer

kcadden@ucmerced.edu

   

Elizabeth Cisneros

Foreing Languages, Spanish Lecturer

ecisneros5@ucmerced.edu

   

Debra Conte

SNS, Biology Lecturer

dconte@ucmerced.edu

yes

yes

Kamal Dulai

SNS, Biology Lecturer

kdulai@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Cheryl Finley

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

cfinley@ucmerced.edu

   

Erik Habecker

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

ehabecker@ucmerced.edu

   

David Hambley

SNS, Mathematics Lecturer

dhambley@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Fiona Memmott

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

fmemmott@ucmerced.edu

   

Samantha Ocena

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

socena@ucmerced.edu

   

Adriana Signorini

Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

asignorini@ucmerced.edu

   

Somnath Sinha

SNS, Cal Teach Lecturer

ssinha6@ucmerced.edu

   

Derek Sollberger

SNS, Mathematics Lecturer

dsollberger@ucmerced.edu

yes

yes

Daniel Swenson

SNS, Mathematics Lecturer

dswenson@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Elinor Torda

Foreign Languages, Spanish Lecturer

etorda@ucmerced.edu

   

Seng Vang

Merritt Writing Program, Lecturer

svang39@ucmerced.edu

   

James Zimmerman

Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning

jzimmerman6@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Sara Davidson Squibb Head, User Communication & Instruction  sdavidson2@ucmerced.edu