Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for most up to date information about the fall semester.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

Faculty Academy Members

The faculty listed below are committed to sharing ideas and resources for supporting first-year students learning and success with their colleagues, both through their work in the Faculty Academy or interest in discussing first-year students teaching challenges and solutions. To initiate a conversation, consider the information below. Faculty in the certificate program are indicated in bold.

The Faculty Academy members invite you to join the effort by attending a meeting, sharing a resource, or offering a teaching tip you have found effective in supporting freshmen learning and academic success. Materials can be sent to Adriana Signorini and meeting times and locations are provided on the homepage.




Experience with TAs?

Teaching Freshman in a large classes.

Kara Ayik

Merritt Writing Program


Ross Avilla

SSHA, Psychology



Camille Carvalho




Daniel Leung

SoE, Computer Sciences

Yes Yes

Yolanda Pineda-Vargas

Foreing Languages, Spanish


Keith Thompson

SNS, Math



Jay Sharping

SNS, Physics



Cheryl Finley

Merritt Writing Program


Derek Merrill

Merritt Writing Program


Muey Saeteurn

SSHA, History



Patricia Vergara

SSHA, World Cultures


Angela Winek

Merritt Writing Program


Adriana Signorini

Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning


Somnath Sinha

SNS, Cal Teach

Chin-Chun Chien


SoE, CS    

James Zimmerman

Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning



Sara Davidson Squibb Head, User Communication & Instruction