Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for most up to date information about the fall semester.Campus ReadyCOVID Help

Faculty Academy Members

The faculty listed below are committed to sharing ideas and resources for supporting first-year students learning and success with their colleagues, both through their work in the Faculty Academy or interest in discussing first-year students teaching challenges and solutions. To initiate a conversation, consider the information below. Faculty in the certificate program are indicated in bold.

The Faculty Academy members invite you to join the effort by attending a meeting, sharing a resource, or offering a teaching tip you have found effective in supporting freshmen learning and academic success. Materials can be sent to Adriana Signorini and meeting times and locations are provided on the homepage.

Name

Discipline

E-mail

Experience with TAs?

Teaching Freshman in a large classes.

Kara Ayik

Merritt Writing Program

kayik@ucmerced.edu

   

Ross Avilla

SSHA, Psychology 

ravilla@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Camille Carvalho

SNS

ccarvalho3@ucmerced.edu

 

 

Daniel Leung

SoE, Computer Sciences

cleung3@ucmerced.edu

Yes Yes

Yolanda Pineda-Vargas

Foreing Languages, Spanish

ypinedavargas@ucmerced.edu

   

Keith Thompson

SNS, Math 

kthompson@ucmerced.edu

yes

yes

Jay Sharping

SNS, Physics 

jsharping@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Cheryl Finley

Merritt Writing Program

cfinley@ucmerced.edu

   

Derek Merrill

Merritt Writing Program

dmerrill2@ucmerced.edu

   

Muey Saeteurn

SSHA, History

msaeteurn3@ucmerced.edu

 

 

Patricia Vergara

SSHA, World Cultures

pvergara@ucmerced.edu

   

Angela Winek

Merritt Writing Program

awinek2@ucmerced.edu

   

Adriana Signorini

Center for Engaged Teaching and Learning

asignorini@ucmerced.edu

   

Somnath Sinha

SNS, Cal Teach

ssinha6@ucmerced.edu

   
Chin-Chun Chien

 

SoE, CS cchien5@ucmerced.edu    

James Zimmerman

Associate Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning

jzimmerman6@ucmerced.edu

Yes

Yes

Sara Davidson Squibb Head, User Communication & Instruction  sdavidson2@ucmerced.edu